For about a decade now, I have been fascinated by the all too brief history of what was Anne Boleyn’s life.  I have a penchant for learning all I can about strong, independent, ground-breaking women throughout history and when I started to read about her, I was immediately enraptured.

One reason for my fascination is that she was a woman that everyone loved to hate.   There are many, many biased accounts and myths surrounding Anne, most of which are derogatory, and most have been proved to be false.  Another factor is her strength and ambition that led her to become nobility in her own right, and later, Queen of England.  She is also credited with changing the face of religion and faith in England forever, AND she gave birth to Elizabeth I, a woman who would go on to have one of the most successful reigns in the history of the British Monarchy.  Anne was not simply satisfied with her lot, and she climbed higher than even her father had imagined she would.

There is a quote from the beginning of the Showtime series, The Tudors that is a great way to look at anything historical.  “You think you know a story, but you only know how it ends.   To get to the heart of the story, you have to go back to the beginning.”  I find that quote to be so true of Anne Boleyn’s life in many ways.  Most people only know how her story ends.  Her grand exit from this world by beheading.  But, as it turns out, this woman had a more interesting life than most people realize.

There are many debates as to the kind of woman Anne Boleyn really was.  She has been brought back to life in several movies and TV series, most of which portray her as a scheming social climber.  But, if that is all there was to her, how did she manage to attain the crown against all odds?  How did she persuade Henry to break with Rome?  Such questions and many more are what lead me to write about Anne.  There are many, many questions still left unanswered about her life and death, but within this blog I intend to at least weigh in my sentiments and knowledge on the subject.   I am sure I will consume many posts with my ponderings about  a woman who helped to bring about the beginning of the English Reformation.

*****Please note: any resources I use for my blogs about Anne Boleyn will be listed at the bottom of my posts.

To be continued……

