In the heart of Downtown, Stillwater, Minnesota, you can find yourself a touch of the Carribean, even on the coldest days of Winter.  Nestled inside the Brick Alley building on Main Street, which also houses a few quaint shops, the smell of the food at Smalley’s Carribean Barbeque and Pirate Bar pulls you in.  The atmosphere is casual, with reggae music playing at just the right volume in the background.

A good friend brought me to this restaurant for the first time when I moved to Stillwater in December, and I have been dragging all of my friends to it ever since!!!!  The pirate theme happens to be something I really love, but the food….. ah…. the food is AMAZING!!!!!!!

The first time I ever ate at Smalley’s, I had their famous Tator Tot Nachos.  I ordered a half portion, and I couldn’t believe how ENORMOUS that was!  I ended up having to take some of it home, cause I just couldn’t eat it all!  The pork on the nachos was not too spicy, and had great jerk flavor.  It was extremely difficult to stop eating it, lol!

The next time I went down, I brought a friend who had never been there.  We had the jerk tacos for the first time.  It was hands down the BEST taco I have ever put in my mouth, and I am half Mexican, so that is saying A LOT!!!!!  We both could not stop all the “ooohhing and ahhhing” as we were eating them!

Other things I have tried….. the Fried Green Tomatoes with a Horseradish Aioli, Jamaican Jerk Wings, BBQ Beef Brisket, Grilled Curried Vegetables, Rice and Peas with Cilantro and Red Onion, Roasted Sweet Potatoes with Sausage and Carmelized Pork (OMFG, there should be a LAW against this dish, cause it’s so GOOD!), and the Coconut Rum Flan.

ALL of these items were outstanding in taste, presentation, preparation and smell.  The jerk seasoning they use is very fresh tasting and you can get it as mild or as hot as you want, which I really love!!!  Most places that have jerk seasoned foods only have it made very hot and I like to enjoy the variety of spices as well as the heat.  They also serve the BBQ with a variety of really delectable sauces!

The waitstaff is very knowledgeable, helpful and prompt.  If something is made a certain way, they let you know ahead of time, to ensure you are going to have the best dining experience.  They have a great sense of humor and everyone seems to really play up the whole pirate theme, lol!

On top of the fabulous food and service, they have a really great happy hour and fantastic drink specials!

All in all, I would say if you ever find yourself in Stillwater, and enjoy Carribean food, you CAN NOT pass it by!  If you would like to know more about Smalley’s, such as location, menu, etc, you can find them here:

http://smalleyscaribbeanbbq.com/

and here:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Stillwater-MN/Smalleys-Caribbean-Barbeque-and-Pirate-Bar/97334556680?v=wall&ref=ts

***Image found via random Google Image Search

