Many people who have never lived in Minnesota have a somewhat skewed view as to how we must live.  Between the frigid cold and the snow, I’m sure it doesn’t paint a pretty picture to someone who lives in say… California?

I’ve been asked by out-of-towners…”Do you guys even go outside in that weather?  How do you see people?  Isn’t it a pain to put all that crap on just to go outside?”  Yes, it can suck… it can suck a whole lot.  I’m a person who likes to have my bare toes in the sand… I like to be warm and not have to wear three layers of clothes outside.   However, there are very beautiful things about where I live and I plan to show you the beauty of living in Minnesota.

The above and below pictures are of luminaries.  They were made with ice and the fun thing about this weather is that it is plenty cold enough to keep them that way!  My friend made a whole bunch of beautiful luminaries for New Years and the Winter, and on a beautiful, clear night he lit them for me so I could see how gorgeous they look!  He wasn’t kidding!  It has to be one of the prettiest Winter spectacles I’ve seen this year… and I was reminded that if I lived somewhere warmer, I wouldn’t have had this experience.  Here is one of the small things about living in Minnesota that I consider to be beautiful, charming, and most of all…. home.  It may not seem like much, but to a girl who has lived here all her life, these are one of the things that make me smile.  🙂

Enjoy the pretty pictures!

