In the true spirit of Thanksgiving, I have been thinking about the things I am most grateful for throughout my morning.  My life in just the past six months has completely turned around in the most positive ways.  There is so much more to life for me now and I can’t help but smile about it and try to hold on to that feeling for as long as possible.

Here are the things I am grateful for this Thanksgiving 2011:

1.  First and foremost, FAMILY.  They are always my first priority and I love my family through the good, the bad, and the ugly.  They are my rock, my reason for striving for better in life.  This includes my extended family as well.  I feel that I on both my mom’s side and my dad’s side we are a very close, tightly knit family unit.  We always have each other’s backs and that is a pleasantly rare thing.

2.  Second, I am grateful for my FRIENDS.  Like my family, my friends are always there for me and have my back.  There are a small handful that I could not ever do without.  My sista from anotha mutha, the Princess, the Monkey, Ms. Blekum, X and T, DL and his wonderful girl, and then there’s our “alternate family” friends as a whole group.  They are so much more than my hubby and I could ever ask for!  I love you guys, and if I don’t say it enough, I will rectify that!  I appreciate all of you for the unique, fantastic, fabulous, beautiful people you are and I am so thankful to have you all in my life in one way or another.

3.  Third, I am grateful for MY JOB.  I absolutely 100% feel as though I have finally found a place to work where I can have fun, I fit in, and it’s so perfect in so many ways, one of them being that it is SUPER close to home!!!  Who can complain with a commute like that, right?  I have awesome co-workers and I absolutely LOVE what I’m doing!   YAY for being employed in a still iffy economy as well!!!!

4.  Last but most certainly NOT least, I am grateful for SCHOOL.  Going back to school after twenty years was scary as hell.  I was worried that I was too stupid to do well.  I worried that I would cave and not finish, that I wouldn’t like the classes, that I wouldn’t be able to do all of the homework.  I am delighted to say that I was SO WRONG!!!!!!!  School has opened up an entirely new world to me and also has shown me just how much I am capable of.  If my sister, Jennie wouldn’t have bugged me to get off my ass and try, I would never have taken the steps to do it.  Thanks, Jen, Jen!!!!!!!  I’m loving school and so happy I took the chance!!!!!!

So there is my short list.  There are a lot more things I am grateful for, but we would be here forever, lol!!!

Today when you are all out doing your various visiting, cooking, eating, drinking… whatever other activities that strike your fancy, really take a moment to stop and truly SEE the wonderful things in your life.  It makes it so much more worth living!!!!!!!

Have a very Happy and Safe Thanksgiving!!!!!!

