Image by Renee Cortez

Image by Renee Cortez

Being on my college newspaper has meant more to me than I could have ever imagined.  When I first signed up for the course, I knew it would be fun to write for the newspaper and hone some of my writing skills, but I never would have guessed the kinds of doors it would open for me, not only as a student, but a future writer!  I have been promoted to Art Director of the newspaper within a short period of time, I have met amazing people, I have learned how to interview, and I have found ways to network for my future using the skills taught within the newspaper curriculum.

Today I help fight for a good cause.  We could possibly lose funding for our beloved newspaper.  In effect, all of the students and faculty will lose their voice.  What kind of message does the college want to send if they remove funding and take that voice away???

I cherish the friendships, working relationships, and connections I have built while working on the paper.  It has been a learning experience far beyond anything I could have thought possible.  I fight with my fellow staff members today not only for us, but for future writers who would benefit from being on the newspaper staff.

Thank you to family, friends, staff and students who have supported us thus far.  We couldn’t have done it without you!

536246_10200459874958549_2061271728_n

